Diokno Ananias
Dr. Diokno Ananias

Dr. Ananias Diokno, a top Filipino-American urologist, and four other Asian business professionals were honored with the “Salute to Excellence” Award by the Asian Pacific American Chamber of Commerce (APACC) at a dinner event held last Oct. 11 at the Henry in Dearborn.

APACC also gave the “Salute to Excellence” Awards to five Asian-owned companies in recognition of their outstanding achievements.[box type=”default” size=”large”] Five top Asian-owned companies also receive awards [/box]In selecting the professional awardees, APACC used the following criteria:

They should be business role model or leader inside and outside their companies; they should be recognized in their professional field; and they should have demonstrated leadership and community involvement by supporting the Asian community through education and mentorship.

In picking Doctor Diokno as one of the professional awardees, the selection committee noted that aside from being the executive vice president and chief medical officer of Beaumont, he is also a urologic surgeon, a medical educator and a clinical researcher.

The committee commented that Diokno loves tackling the challenges posed by his four positions, observing that his objective is “to make people well through developing direct care, transfer of knowledge through education, discovery of new ways to diagnose and treat people and by establishing policies beneficial to their patients.”

Diokno, who hails from Batangas, Philippines, received the Kaiser-Permanente Award for Excellence in Teaching on the votes of medical students. He also received the Silver Cystoscopy Award given by the urology residents.

He had trained at least 25 young, Asian-Pacific urologists at Beaumont, and many of them returned to their native countries where they are now successful practitioners and leaders.

READ:  29 overseas Filipinos, groups receive 2012 Presidential Awards

His five-pronged formula for success requires “you to: (1) Be prepared by being the best you can in your field; (2) Be a visionary and communicate your ideas; (3) Be credible by delivering what you have promised; (4) Be a team player by learning how to play in the sandbox; and (5) Be remarkable so that you will be noticed.”

Doctor Diokno studied medicine at the University of Santo Tomas in Manila. After completing his urologic training, he attended the University of Michigan (UM) on a Babcock Fellowship in Neurourology and Urodynamics. He became a faculty member at UM in 1971 and was named full professor in 1982.

He was chairman of the Department of Urology at Beaumont Hospital-Royal Oak from 1984 to 2007 and was the first Peter and Florine Ministrelli Distinguished Chair in 2006-2007.

Doctor Diokno also serves as associate editor of the International Journal of Urology and Nephrology. He co-chaired the first United States AHCPR Guidelines for Urinary Incontinence in Adults in 1992, and he has published more than 250 journal articles and book chapters. He is a recipient of many scientific awards.

Diokno was unable to attend the event, but he sent a video tape through which he thanked APACC for honoring him with the award.

The four other Asian business professional awardees were Dominic Pangborn, president and CEO of Pangborn Design; Linglong He, chief information officer of Quicken Loans; Shihjian (Walter) Zhou, Ph.D., president of the Institute of Higher Education and Collaboration; and Raj Nair, group vice president for global product development of Ford Motor Company.

READ:  Navarra, 3 other Fil-Ams appointed to Republican advisory council

The five honorees in the Asian-owned company category were Amerilodge Group, Apo Life, Bangkok 96 Thai Feast, Ebinger Manufacturing Company, and Fuyao Automotive North America, Inc. (See related story on Page 5.)

The guest speaker at the event was Tony Tomczak, director for supply chain management of DTE Energy.

The welcome remarks were delivered by APACC Directors Stephanie Beau and Brenda Schneider. The master of ceremonies was Andrew Humphrey, meteorologist and reporter of WDIV-Local 4.