filamcco uPAAM elections
Image courtesy of

The University of the Philippines Alumni Association of Michigan (UPAAM) elected recently its executive officers and members of the board of directors for 2017-2019.

Elected president is Anita Sodawalla, RN, MSN. She is the outgoing UPAAM president. Sodawalla is also a stage actress who is regularly given a featured role in musical plays produced by a theater group based in Warren. She was a former member of the UP mixed chorus.    

The other newly elected officers are Carmen Perez Villanueva, vice president; Eden Alfaro, corresponding secretary; Chit Rojas, recording secretary; Rene Juridico, treasurer; Victoria R. Bryan, PRO; Bayani Domingo, auditor; Delia Rayos, parliamentarian; and Precy Borja, Helen Domingo, Del Hernandez, Lavinia Mateo, Virgie Nasol, Buddy Ostrea, Ellen Porte, Pete Reyes, Noel Santos, Ann Tai and Corrie Tunac, members of the board of directors.

Outgoing UPAAM President Roy Coloma announced that the new officers will take their oath of office on June 17, 2017 when UPAAM holds its Annual Recognition and Awards Night at the Ukranian Cultural Center on Ryan Road, Warren.

During the same event, the winners in UPAAM’s annual search for outstanding youth of Michigan (OYM) will receive their awards.

The OYM awards are given in recognition of excellence in citizenship/community service, academics, performing arts, community leadership and athletics.

The awardees in last year’s OYM presentation were Andrew Arche, Tonimarie Catalan, Ian Christian Espiritu, Nolan Felicidario, Hope-Marie Olivan, Ciara Timban and Tru Michael Wilson.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here