Miss Philippines of Michigan
Miss Philippines of Michigan

Candidates for the Miss Philippines-Michigan 2014-2016 title were introduced during the program that highlighted the Kalayaan Picnic held last June 7 at the Halmich Park in Warren.

The candidates presented by the FILAMCCO committee handling the beauty competition included Yliza Alojipan delos Reyes, Meaghan Penning, Danielle Purtell, Yasmin Caridad and Martenni Ramsy.

The beauty pageant will be held on Aug. 23, 2014 at the St. John’s Banquet and Conference Center in Southfield.

Rose Caoagas, chairperson of the committee in charge of the beauty contest, said her committee has prepared a schedule of pre-contest activities for the candidates.

FILAMCCO President Imelda Martin-Hum said that aside from the crown and sash, a cash prize of $1,000 is at stake in the beauty contest. Also, all contestant will receive a bag of designer cosmetic from La Prairie Switzerland, courtesy of Blomingdale in Chevy Chase Washington, D.C. by Angelica

The winner of the Miss Philippines-Michigan 2014-2016 title will also serve as FILAMCCO’s ambassador of goodwill and will represent the Filipino-American community at official events, Martin-Hum said.

The incumbent holder of the Miss Philippines-Michigan title is Miss Carryle Zaldariaga. She will turn over the crown during the pageant.