Anna Cho
Anna Cho

Anna Cho, a former English teacher in South Korea, is the new Mrs. Philippines-Michigan.

Cho, who is married to U.S. Army Staff Sergeant Carl Odfalk, was proclaimed Mrs. Philippines-Michigan 2015-2017 at the conclusion of the Pageant Night held on August 22, 2015 at the St. John Armenian Cultural Center in Southfield.

(Read related column on Page 6.)

A mother of two, Cho chalked up the highest average point in the scorecards of the four judges – namely, TV anchor Jennifer Pascua, fashion model Marc Gueco, artist Dominic Pangborn and lawyer Soraya Kim.

Cho, 29 years old, bested six other candidates – namely, Jayben Bodrie, Marie Lhet Johnson, Maria Theresa Middleton, Liza Barranco, Gloria Bohacz and Aiza Milton.

Cho, who lives in Clinton Township, Macomb, was an English teacher for 10 years at the University of Hanshin in South Korea, where she met her husband. She graduated recently with a course for nursing assistance specialists from the Auburn University.

The new Mrs. Philippines-Michigan, who hails from Cebu City, speaks four languages – English, Tagalog, Bisaya and Korean.

For winning the prestigious title, Cho received a cash prize of $1,000, gift certificates and other valuable prizes.

Cho was crowned by Mrs. Philippines-Michigan 2013-2015 Carol Ambas who was assisted by FILAMCCO President Imelda Hum.

Proclaimed runner-up was Aiza Milton, who lives in Romulus, Michigan. Married to Michael Milton, Milton studied in Iligan City, Mindanao. She tied with Jayben Bodrie in the talent competition. For garnering runner-up, Milton received a cash prize of $300 and other valuable prizes.

Winners of special awards and titles were Middleton, Mrs. Congeniality and Mrs. Philippines-Michigan Spirit of Volunteerism; Bodrie, Best in Ethnic Attire, Mrs. Facebook, Best in Sportwear, Best in Talent and Mrs. Philippines-Michigan Tourism; Johnson, Mrs. Photogenic, Best in Gown and Mrs. Philippines-Michigan Charity; Bohacz, Mrs. Philanthropy and Mrs. Philippines-Michigan Independence Day; and Barranco, Mrs. Philippines-Michigan Great Lakes.

During the intermission, a fashion show titled “Simply D’ Best” showcased beautiful Filipiniana outfits. FILAMCCO Parliamentarian Angela Bedia presented the models and described the dresses they were wearing.

The models were Rose Coagas, Mia Timban, Cristina Timban, Marinette Timban, Rachel Zapathka, Teresita Timban, Lilian Grabowski, Mary Ann Noffs, Joevey Hall, Welarchioe Romeras, Yvonne Bedia, Vangie Tong, Mimi Stiempen and Shirley Monteverde.

In her welcome remarks, FILAMCCO President Hum thanked the people who worked hard to ensure that the pageant was a success. They included Brenda Sanagustin, Willie Dechavez, Resty Teodoro, Angie Bedia, Van Ong and Dr. Ernie Bedia.