CAPAThe Council of Asian Pacific Americans (CAPA) elected last Nov. 6 four officers and five members of the board of directors.

The election was held at the Philippine American Community Center of Michigan (PACCM) in Southfield.

The newly elected officers are Aneesa Rashid, president-elect; Becky Tungol, vice president; Pina Chhaya, executive director; and Jeff Vedua, assistant treasurer.

The five new members of CAPA’s board of directors are Theresa Tran, Jenny Wang, Steven Shang, Ryan Rosario and Betsy Henry.

Two of the newly elected officers are Filipino-Americans. They are Tungol and Vedua, who are incumbent president and treasurer, respectively, of PACCM.

Two of the new board directors are also Filipino-Americans. They are Rosario and Henry, president and vice president, respectively, of the Filipino American Community Council (FILAMCCO).

New director Tran is the president of APIAVote-Michigan. A Vietnamese-American, Tran was elected in absentia.
The incumbent CAPA president is Robert Riparip, a Filipino-American.